Favorite Places, life, photography, travels

SW Road trip.. the Grand Canyon

Have you ever seen something so fantastic that it almost brought tears to your eyes? That was the Grand Canyon for me. We made the trek from Santa Fe to Grand Canyon National Park and thank goodness, made our way towards lower elevation… I learned (the hard way) that I’m extremely sensitive to altitude. I’ve never been to the Grand Canyon nor have I ever even seen it from the sky, so really, I didn’t know what to expect… I obviously knew how huge it was but on our way there I was wondering if we’d be able to see it from miles away. We entered the south entrance of the national park and still the canyon was no where to be seen. After we quickly check in to our campsite and pitch our tent, we hop back into the car to the view point. We drive towards it and oh my goodness, there it was.

You look at something like the Grand Canyon and it just makes you feel so tiny and at the same time so gracious to be able to witness such an amazing natural wonder. It’s crazy, I really did almost cry. We didn’t hike to the bottom this time around but we will definitely next time we visit, we really just walked up and down the trail along the edge of the canyon. My favorite part was eating an ice cream while looking at the Grand Canyon, now that’s something everybody needs to do at least once in life.

IMG_4020 IMG_4021 IMG_4053 IMG_4060 IMG_4071 IMG_4073 IMG_4078 IMG_4084 IMG_4088 IMG_4093 IMG_4097 IMG_4105 IMG_4112

Drinking beer, bird watching, walks, talks and hot dogs, it’s the good life! It was a nice break during our road trip to camp for a couple of days and prepare ourselves for the final shenanigans in Phoenix.

Standard

Leave a Reply

