Uncategorized

An aimless entry…

Here I am alone with my “still getting to know you” dog laying on the floor. This is one of the first times in a very long time that the boyfriend has gone out of town, leaving me alone in the new-ish house with the new-ish dog without cable to cut costs for the first time in months. Thank goodness for the internet.

So instead of moping (I almost typed mopping, which I’ll do later in his absence) instead of moping around, I mentally smacked myself in the face and told myself that I need to start getting productive and stop being so sad and lonely.

It’s now 11:01pm, which is usually too late in my usual standards to be up, but since I’ve been thrown into this whole new situation, my daily routine has been knocked off it’s tracks. I’ve been on Facebook for as many hours as I used to in 2009, window shopped on Modcloth and have been inspired like there was no tomorrow on Pinterest. So after feeling like I can conquer the world, what did I do? I made a list. And let me tell you, after making this list, I not only feel 100 times more productive, I now feel like I have a purpose. Which is sad, I’ve let myself become a slave to HGTV, the Food Network and the domestic duties of being a decent girlfriend that I’ve neglected doing whatever the hell I want do… although I am limited with this whole dog situation and all. But I’m so glad he’s here… at least I won’t feel like such a freak when I’m talking to myself him.

Anyway, back to my list… what a impressive list of to-do’s on this long Memorial Day weekend. Besides having to run a 10k that I hardly trained for and taking Max to the vet, I’ve got a solid 3 days of me time. Besides sleeping in until 8am, the first thing that I listed was to post on my blog. This entry that I’m doing right now really doesn’t count… it’s going to be a good entry, like a DIY or a recipe or a lesson on life… it’s going to be a good one. I really had high hopes for my blog and I feel like I haven’t spent enough time and energy on it that I intended to. I have a prediction that now that my tv screen is about as useless as a white crayon, that it will in turn cause me to gravitate towards my computer screen in hopes to be posting more blogs for my millions and billions of followers, aka the 3 of you.

So besides gorging myself with spam musubi and homemade hot wings, I’ll be taking you with me on this short 3 day journey of hopefully lots and lots of creative productivity and maybe a little of organizing on the side.

Standard

2 thoughts on “An aimless entry…

  1. I think, in general, when life gets too busy or we have people in our lives that are a MAJOR inclusion in our lives, we forget to spend time on ourselves and dedicating some time to recharge– either creatively, physically, or mentally. It’s a big reason why I started setting up that once-a-month crafts night– dedicated “me time”. Plus, I don’t hang out with friends much anymore with the family-rearing and all.

    So, what I’m trying to say is, I’m looking forward to hearing what you do this weekend 🙂

    • Thanks! I was so close to having a meltdown last night.. but then I realize that I can really make the most of this weekend.. No distractions, nothing! I seriously had to put myself in check. A nice quiet weekend to myself… sounds pretty awesome to me.

Leave a Reply

