Dish A Month, Recipes

Dish of the month – MAY: Hawaiian Edition.

For my dish a month, I’m going to take a break from posting a filipino recipe and instead post the recipe for one of my favorite foods ever… EVER! It’s simple, easy to make and comforting. Spam Musubi… it’s basically spam, rice and seaweed. And I know what you’re thinking, that’s super easy right?! (While the rest of you are thinking.. eeeeew Spam, whatever. I grew up eating spam, and I’ve actually converted the boyfriend into an avid spam eater, he’s never had spam until me.) But it’s not just spam and rice wrapped in seaweed… oh no no no, it’s much more than that. Still, it is a really easy recipe that requires no more than 5 ingredients, but it takes a lot of TLC to make each and every musubi. I love it, I love it so much I’d marry it.

I’ll also include my “mac daddy salad” recipe… because you can’t have spam musubi without it’s soul-mate: mac salad.

(Eek! I apologize for the horrible pictures!)

Spam Musubi

makes about 10 (depending on how you slice your SPAM!)

  • One can of SPAM, sliced and cooked to your preference. (I personally like my SPAM well done and cripy. mmm)
  • About 3 cups of cooked white rice.
  • Sushi seasoning (I found this at my local Japanese market place (Marukai Market).. here’s a picture of the seasoning and musubi mold)
  • About 2-3 Tbs of Oyster sauce
  • Seaweed Wrap (I would cut mine into halves and they would be the perfect size)
  • Musubi mold… this DOES exist! I also found this at Marukai. This isn’t super necessary but I find it really handy when I’m putting the musubi together, especially handling the hot rice. But you can get creative and use something else or nothing at all, before I had the musubi mold, I had this perfectly sized little tupperware.. but it was accidentally thrown away during the move. I’ve heard of people using the spam cans, but I wouldn’t see how effective that would be… anyway, let’s move on.
  1. Begin by cooking your rice. While that’s cooking prepare and cook your SPAM.
  2. Once you have all of your cooked ingredients, I like to prepare my musubi makin’ station. I’d keep my rice in the cooker that way it stays warm (the seaweed adheres better when you’re using hot rice). Then I’d have a clean surface to work on. A couple of bowls: one for some sushi seasoning (you won’t need too much, just enough for two generous sprinkles for each musubi) and one for the oyster sauce. Take the bowl of oyster sauce and dilute it with some water so that it has the consistency of soy sauce. You also need a plate to stack your finished musubi on.
  3. Now comes the fun part.. this does take patience. But it’s soooo worth it! Take your musubi mold and place inside a seaweed piece (if you’re not using a mold or anything, then you’d just lay your seaweed flat on the surface) be sure that the correct side is up, for the ones that I use you would put the “shiny” side down.. I’m sure they’re the same for all. Anyway, so I go in this order: rice, sprinkle of sushi seasoning, drizzle of diluted oyster sauce, SPAM, drizzle of oyster sauce, rice, sprinkle of sushi seasoning.. now close and repeat!
  4. Now once you’ve made all of your Spam Musubi serve with soy sauce and a side of mac daddy salad….

Mac Daddy Salad (Hawaiian Macaroni Salad)

adapted recipe from Cook’s Country Magazine

Serves 8 to 10 (I usually half this recipe…)

  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 2 cups mayonnaise
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 pound elbow macaroni
  • 1/8 cup cider vinegar
  • 4 scallions , sliced thin
  • 1 large carrot , peeled and grated
  • 1 celery rib , chopped fine
  1. Bring 4 quarts water to boil in large pot. Add 1 tablespoon salt and pasta and cook until very soft, about 15 minutes (you basically want to overcook the pasta, this helps absorb all of the dressing!) Drain pasta and transfer to bowl. Add vinegar and toss until absorbed. Cool pasta 10 minutes, I like to place it in the fridge for a bit.
  2. While the pasta is cooling. Whisk 1½ cups milk, 1 cup mayonnaise, sugar, ½ teaspoon salt, and 2 teaspoons pepper in bowl. Once the pasta has been cooled, stir in the dressing until the pasta is well coated. Cool completely.
  3. Add scallions, carrot, celery, remaining milk, and remaining mayonnaise to pot with pasta mixture and stir to combine. Season with salt and pepper. Transfer to serving bowl and refrigerate, covered, for at least 1 hour or up to 2 days. Serve.

And what I’ve noticed when I make this salad is that it tastes much differently after it has time to completely cool. Therefore, make it according to the recipe and once it cools then add more of whatever it needs according to your taste… (I usually add a little more mayo, milk, brown sugar, salt and pepper because sometimes that vinegar taste is really strong.. and that’s another thing, go light on the vinegar, I halved amount that the original recipe called for.)

There you have it, my favorite meal ever.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Dish of the month – MAY: Hawaiian Edition.

  1. I had this EXTRA craving for SPAM yesterday. Thusly, Ryan found a really cheap Hawaiian place and it was sooo good. I don’t think I can ever get tired of SPAM musubi. We need to live close together again. We’re sooo thinking alike lately!

    • Goodness I know! It seems like we’ve been cooking the same things lately… and on the same schedule too! Seriously though, SPAM musubi has been a regularly occurring dish for me… I’m addicted! Oh and btw I finally learned how to make lumpia! Now all I need to learn is pancit, then I’ll officially be an Auntie.

Leave a Reply

