Dish A Month, Goals and Aspirations, Recipes, Uncategorized

Filipino Dish of the Month – March

One of my goals for 2012 is to cook a new Filipino dish each month.  On this cold and stormy day and nursing a sick boyfriend back to health, I knew arroz caldo would hit the spot.  This comforting filipino dish has been my favorite ever since I was a child, arroz caldo (translated as warm rice), is a chicken and rice porridge that is sure to fill your belly and instantly warm your soul. So I contacted my mom to find out what I needed in order to make this myself…

Arroz caldo (Chicken and Rice Porridge)

  • 1 ½ lbs chicken, cut into serving pieces
  • 1 ½ cups uncooked sweet rice (botan rice)
  • about 2 1/2 cups of water (to start with, you end up adding more to reach your desired consistency)
  • about 4-5 Tbsp of fish sauce, add to taste
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1 cup onion, minced
  • 4 pieces hard boiled eggs
  • 1 cup scallions (green onions), minced
  • 2 knobs ginger
  • 1 piece chicken cube (bouillon)
  • 1 lemon or 4 calamansi
  • 2 Tbsp cooking oil

Since I’m making my arroz caldo to my preference, I ground both the garlic and the ginger in a food processor that way it was very fine. My mom would cut up the ginger in bigger pieces but I didn’t like that. So whatever you prefer.

Heat cooking oil and saute the onion, garlic and ginger. Then add the chicken cube, cook until cube has melted. Now add the chicken, cook until golden brown.  Next, add 2 Tbsp of fish sauce and uncooked rice, cook for a few minutes.  Add the water and bring to a boil, simmer until the rice has been fully cooked (about 30-45 minutes), stirring occasionally.  You’ll notice as it’s cooking, the water gets absorbed, add more hot water until you reach your desired consistency.  For me, I added A LOT of water while it was cooking because I like my arroz caldo pretty soupy. Also this is a good time to taste test the broth to add more fish sauce, add according to taste. While your rice is cooking you can boil your eggs. Once the rice is done you can add the boiled eggs… peeled (OBVIOUSLY!).. and serve topped with green onions and a squeeze of lemon or calamansi.. Mmmm, Masarap! (Yields 6 servings)

Standard

Leave a Reply

