Uncategorized

First update from the new house!

Hello there friends! Let me first apologize for my lack of posts these last couple of weeks.  If you had any idea of what I was up to lately, you’d understand completely!  Anyway, so it’s official… we’ve MOVED IN! Hooray!

It’s been about a week since we’ve moved in and it really is coming together rather nicely.  Chris and I are very proud of the progress we’ve made!  So far we’ve managed to paint the living room/dining room.  It was a pastel yellow, which is fine, but not really the color I would choose for such a large space.  I decided to go with a light blue-ish grey… it’s from Olympic Paints called “Going Grey” (haha) and it looks fantastic! It has a much more distinguished look and it really lets the color of the wood pop!

What do you think?

Here is the living room before:

After:

It took me a little less than 20 hours to complete (thanks to the help of Chris!) but really, I did do most of the work since it was me that was so anti-yellow.  The longest part was applying the painter’s tape and protecting everything.  Totally worth it though… but I won’t be painting again anytime soon, I’ll tell you that much.

Now that painting is out of the way we were able to move all of the furniture back into the living room and start hanging up pictures!  We don’t even have all of our artwork up yet and it’s already making the house look like more of a home… it’s so exciting!

We’re both so very satisfied of the furniture we’ve managed to find and it’s so fun to decorate together.  Chris found this adorable couch on Craigslist and the dining table, this I’ve had my eye on for a couple of weeks at the consignment place.  Love them!

Nowadays we would go to bed super exhausted from long days of being at work then going home and working on the house… but its fun and we’re enjoying building this house together. 🙂

That’s my last couple of weeks in a nutshell.

Standard

Leave a Reply

